Mac and cheese ball

  
Sunday morning is my time to cook breakfast. Since we were out of potatoes, I’ve had to come up with something else. Seeing a pack of macaroni in the kitchen, I was inspired – how about macaroni and cheese balls! The only problem was we had no internet and I’ve never made it before.  

 Given that I could guess the basic ingredients, I soldiered on. It turned out to be quite a simple recipe which was based on the recipe for potato hash I put up a couple of weeks ago.

 To complement the Mac and cheese balls, I’ve also made some Jamie Oliver’s style mushroom, a small portion of scrambled eggs, and creamy tomato soup. I know they seem like an odd combination but they worked. 

 I enjoyed it. Andrew actually preferred it to the potato hash. In my opinion this was simpler to make when you don’t have that much time compared to the potato hash.

 Here is how to make it…

Mac and cheese ball

Makes 8-10 small balls/2 serves

Ingredients:

  • 1 and a half cups of macaroni 
  • 4 slices of your favourite cheese
  • 2 table spoon of milk
  • 1 heap tablespoon of flour (any kind, I used plain flour)
  • 4 pieces of weetbix
  • Herbs for the crumb (I used a few sprigs of rosemary from the garden)
  • 1 egg

Direction:

  1. Cook the macaroni in hot water
  2. Drain the water when the pasta is ready
  3. Mix in the flour, milk and cheese. Add salt and pepper to taste
  4. Chill the mixture in the fridge for at least 20 mins
  5. Blitz the weetbix and herbs together in a mixer to create crumb mixture
  6. Beat an egg in a separate bowl
  7. Ball the macaroni by hand to the size you want 
  8. Coat it in the egg mixture and then the weetbix crumb
  9. Shallow fry the balls in hot for around a couple of minutes – until they are golden brown
  10. Drain excess oil using paper towels

Enjoy! 

 

Leave a Reply

